Call Us: 0191 373 3374
8am - 5pm Monday - Friday
Get In Touch

WYN CONSTRUCTION

The leading Civil Engineering and Groundworks contractor, delivering civil engineering requirements to the highest standards, safely, on time and within budget.

Wyn Construction:
About Us

Wyn Construction Limited was formed in 1992, after having operated as a Partnership for many years. The Company provides specialist civil engineering, drainage, concrete foundations and structures to the construction industry in the North East of England.

From humble beginnings, when the ‘office’ was merely a portakabin, the Company has developed and expanded whereby it now employs over 100 people of various trades and professions. Two of the original partners are actively involved in the business as Contracts Directors and this ‘hands on’ approach is one of the key factors in its success.

Wyn Construction Limited aims to provide long term permanent employment for an increasing workforce. We invest our time and money in developing the core skills of its current workforce, and seek every opportunity to bring in current industry talent and those new to the industry with apprentices.

This enables us to meet the needs of an ever demanding and changing market place within the construction industry sectors. It also enables us to meet our sustainability cycle targets and encouraging new people into construction. We are able to ensure the expectations of existing and new clients are being exceeded, and our success within the North East of England continues whilst allowing expansion of our geographical area.

Company Ethos

Our vision is to be the contractor of first choice for our Clients “a safe pair of hands” in delivering their civil engineering requirements to the highest standards, safely, on time and within budget.

Our mission is to ensure a sustainable future, with strong leadership, with our people at the forefront forming solid foundations, and our family values at the core of our business.

Meet the Management Team

Roy Bainbridge

Contracts Director

Roy, or Bambi, as he is affectionately known throughout the industry, has followed a very similar career path to David Cowie the other Contracts Director. Having gone to the same school as David and grown up as close friends it was almost inevitable that they would be working together, which they did initially at Wimpey, and then as self-employed groundworkers. Roy has gained a wealth of experience on civil engineering and groundworks projects throughout the North East, and it is this knowledge which led him to be one of the original 5 partners who founded the business. Roy’s passion and drive is revered by his industry peers and has ensured the successful delivery of many projects regionally and nationally.

David Cowie

Contracts Director

Upon leaving school David commenced working with his father Ollie Cowie as part of a road and sewers gang working throughout the North East of England for Wimpey. He increased his experience of the industry by taking on different roles for various contractors and gradually accepting more and more responsibility. As the industry move away from directly employed labour he became self-employed, working independently and as part of a groundworks gang. This led to him becoming one of the original 5 partners who started the business. David has been responsible for successfully delivering some of the largest civil engineering groundworks packages throughout the North East. He is well respected in the industry for his wealth of knowledge and his ability to get the job done safely and right first time.

John Osborne

Operations Director

John recently joined the Wyn Construction business in early January 2018 coming in with 30 years of main contractor background delivering many senior roles with both Laing O’Rourke and Bowmer and Kirkland. John started his construction career as a Carpenter & Joiner Apprentice for John Laing back in the late 80’s and once fully time served went on to learn his trade predominately in the delivery of concrete superstructures. He was soon singled out as a future construction leader and quickly progressed through the construction management ranks to Senior Project Leader delivering projects in excess of £40m, working in various construction sectors with higher education, aviation and commercial, but to name a few. His wealth of people and project management, project delivery and governance, and his technical knowledge and ability is set to strengthen the Companies market position as a leading civil engineering contractor in the region.

Tracy Hallam

Company Accountant

Tracy joined Wyn Construction Ltd in October 2005 as company accountant and has been an integral part in the successful growth of the business over the last 13 years. Tracy’s day to day role involves her overseeing a team of dedicated accounts administrators and payroll staff, making sure our directly employed labour force as well as all external suppliers and subcontractors are paid on time. Tracy works closely alongside the commercial team and the directors to provide concise and up-to-date monthly management accounts which are an indispensable tool needed to make sure that the company’s cash flow is managed correctly, together with preparing and submitting figures to our external auditors at year end. Tracy is also responsible for making sure that we remain compliant with all HMRC legislation.

Mark Horner

Managing Director

Mark joined the company in 1995 as a Quantity Surveyor after completing his degree at John Moore University in Liverpool. Mark quickly demonstrated the ability and desire to progress within the company and soon became involved in the purchasing and estimating departments. His passion for the industry and the business was clear from day one and his success in these departments saw him progress to Commercial Manager and then Commercial Director shortly after. When Derek Ginsberg announced his retirement plans for April 2018 a succession plan was put in place that has seen Mark promoted to Joint Managing Director and now Managing Director. Mark’s contribution to the industry has also been recognised with his recent appointment as a director of CECA-NE which he delivers with the same passion and vigour as he does for Wyn Construction.

Key Staff

Finance & Administration Support Department

Julie Dixon – Payroll Administrator- jdixon@wynconstruction.com

Elaine Lee – Purchase Ledger Clerk – elee@wynconstruction.com

Gillian Hogan – Purchase Ledger Clerk – ghogan@wynconstruction.com

Jane Holmes – Receptionist/Administration Assistant – jholmes@wynconstruction.com

Jill Cummings – Document Controller & QA Administrator – jcummings@wynconstruction.com

Commercial Department

Michael Shanley – Senior Quantity Surveyor – mshanley@wynconstruction.com

Joey Scanlon – Assistant Estimator – jscanlon@wynconstruction.com

Paul Ginsberg – Quantity Surveyor – pginsberg@wynconstruction.com

Jason Harvey – Quantity Surveyor – jharvey@wynconstruction.com

Darren Hopps – Quantity Surveyor – dhopps@wynconstruction.com

Health, Safety & Environmental Department

Ed Page – Safety, Health and Environmental Manager – epage@wynconstruction.com

Purchasing Department

Steve Richardson – Buyer – srichardson@wynconstruction.com

James Anderson – Buyer – janderson@wynconstruction.com

Jill Bunting – Assistant Buyer – jbunting@wynconstruction.com

Looking for a leading civil engineering and groundworks contractor?